# Cap leasehold permission fees and admin charges

> “We will legislate to give the Secretary of State powers to cap exorbitant permission fees and administration charges, with a public consultation to follow to help determine the scope and level of those caps.”
>
> — Matthew Pennycook, Minister of State for Housing and Planning, Labour Party; Written ministerial statement, 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Housing & environment](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/housing-and-environment)
- **Speaker:** [Matthew Pennycook](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/matthew-pennycook), Minister of State for Housing and Planning
- **Party:** [Labour Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/labour)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Written ministerial statement
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Leaseholders and homeowners on privately managed estates
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS363 (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Parliament Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-cap-leasehold-permission-fees-2026

## Where it stands

Announced on 29 September 2026 as part of wider protections for leaseholders and homeowners on privately managed estates. The law would give the Secretary of State powers to set caps; a public consultation is to follow on what they cover and how high they are. No Bill or date has been named.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The Housing Minister says the government will legislate for powers to cap permission fees and administration charges

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Written ministerial statement HCWS363, 12 Oct 2026: Improving housing availability and affordability](https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS363)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
