# Deploy 10,000 more police officers

> “Local MP for North West Essex and Leader of the Conservative Party, Kemi Badenoch, has pledged that the next Conservative Government will deploy 10,000 more police officers.”
>
> — Kemi Badenoch, Leader of the Opposition, Conservative Party; News release on her website, 25 August 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Police, courts, prisons](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/police-courts-and-prisons)
- **Speaker:** [Kemi Badenoch](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/kemi-badenoch), Leader of the Opposition
- **Party:** [Conservative Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/conservatives)
- **Made on:** 25 August 2026
- **Where:** News release on her website
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Police forces; the release says Essex Police would get 303 more officers
- **When:** Not stated ("the next Conservative Government")
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://www.kemibadenoch.org.uk/news/conservatives-pledge-10000-more-police-officers (checked word for word at its source on 20 October 2026; Quoted for reporting; rights stay with the publisher)
- **Last updated:** 20 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-con-10000-police-2026

## Where it stands

The Conservatives are not in government, so the card stays at Promised. The release says this is part of the party's Take Back Our Streets plan and that Essex Police would get 303 of the officers. It does not say how the officers would be paid for or by when.

## Timeline

- 25 August 2026, Promised: Kemi Badenoch pledges that the next Conservative Government will deploy 10,000 more police officers

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Kemi Badenoch: Conservatives pledge 10,000 more police officers (25 Aug 2026)](https://www.kemibadenoch.org.uk/news/conservatives-pledge-10000-more-police-officers)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 20 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
