# High-risk cosmetics only by professionals

> “Under the new rules, anyone carrying out the highest-risk cosmetic procedures will need to be a qualified, trained and regulated professional, giving people confidence they’re in safe hands.”
>
> — HM Government; Press release (Department of Health and Social Care), 21 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Health](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/health)
- **Speaker:** [HM Government](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/hm-government)
- **Made on:** 21 October 2026
- **Where:** Press release (Department of Health and Social Care)
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** People having cosmetic procedures in England
- **When:** Parliamentary process planned for spring 2027; start date not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://www.gov.uk/government/news/cosmetic-cowboys-crackdown-continues-with-new-restrictions (checked word for word at its source on 25 October 2026; Open Government Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 25 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-cosmetic-high-risk-rules-2026

## Where it stands

Draft regulations for England would make fillers injected outside the face, such as liquid Brazilian butt lifts, surgery that only doctors may perform, and limit procedures such as deep chemical peels and vampire facials to doctors, dentists and some nurses, midwives and pharmacists. Under-18s would be barred from high-risk treatments. A consultation is open until 13 January 2027, and the release says the Parliamentary process is currently planned for spring 2027; it gives no date for the rules to take effect. The card moves when the regulations are made.

## Timeline

- 21 October 2026, Promised: The government publishes draft regulations restricting the highest-risk cosmetic procedures to qualified, regulated professionals

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Department of Health and Social Care press release, 21 Oct 2026: Cosmetic cowboys crackdown continues with new restrictions](https://www.gov.uk/government/news/cosmetic-cowboys-crackdown-continues-with-new-restrictions)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 25 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
