# Ban disposable vapes

> “That is why I am taking bold action to ban disposable vapes - which have driven the rise in youth vaping - and bring forward new powers to restrict vape flavours, introduce plain packaging and change how vapes are displayed in shops.”
>
> — Rishi Sunak, Prime Minister, Conservative Party; Press release (Department of Health and Social Care and Prime Minister's Office), 29 January 2024

- **Status:** Delivered, brought about by HM Government (The regulations and the Act were made after the change of government on 5 July 2024.)
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Health](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/health)
- **Speaker:** [Rishi Sunak](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/rishi-sunak), Prime Minister
- **Party:** [Conservative Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/conservatives)
- **Made on:** 29 January 2024
- **Where:** Press release (Department of Health and Social Care and Prime Minister's Office)
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Children and young people who vape, and the shops and makers that sell or supply vapes
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://www.gov.uk/government/news/disposable-vapes-banned-to-protect-childrens-health (checked word for word at its source on 20 October 2026; Open Government Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 20 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-disposable-vapes-ban-2024

## Where it stands

Both parts are now law. Supplying single-use vapes has been an offence in England since 1 June 2025, under regulations made on 25 November 2024; Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland made regulations of their own. The Tobacco and Vapes Act 2026, law since 29 April 2026, gives ministers powers over the flavour of vapes (section 96), their retail packaging (section 94) and how they are displayed in shops in England (section 13). Both came into law under the government that followed his.

## Timeline

- 29 January 2024, Promised: The Prime Minister announces a ban on disposable vapes and new powers over vape flavours, packaging and displays
- 25 November 2024, Legislated: Regulations banning the supply of single-use vapes in England are made ([evidence](https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2024/1216/made))
- 1 June 2025, Delivering: The ban on supplying single-use vapes comes into force in England ([evidence](https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2024/1216/made))
- 29 April 2026, Delivered: The Tobacco and Vapes Act 2026 becomes law, with powers over vape flavours, packaging and displays ([evidence](https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2026/18/contents))

## About the cost

No cost was given for the ban. The same announcement added £30 million a year of new funding for enforcement agencies to carry out the smokefree generation plan and these vaping measures.

Costing sources:
- [Department of Health and Social Care and others: Disposable vapes banned to protect children's health (29 Jan 2024)](https://www.gov.uk/government/news/disposable-vapes-banned-to-protect-childrens-health)

## Sources

- [Department of Health and Social Care and others: Disposable vapes banned to protect children's health (29 Jan 2024)](https://www.gov.uk/government/news/disposable-vapes-banned-to-protect-childrens-health)
- [The Environmental Protection (Single-use Vapes) (England) Regulations 2024 (SI 2024/1216)](https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2024/1216/made)
- [The Environmental Protection (Single-use Vapes) (Scotland) Regulations 2024](https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ssi/2024/269/contents)
- [The Environmental Protection (Single-use Vapes) (Wales) Regulations 2024](https://www.legislation.gov.uk/wsi/2024/1324/contents)
- [The Environmental Protection (Single-use Vapes) (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2025](https://www.legislation.gov.uk/nisr/2025/126/contents)
- [Tobacco and Vapes Act 2026 (legislation.gov.uk)](https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2026/18/contents)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 20 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
