# End right to buy completely

> “So we need to end right to buy completely.”
>
> — Zack Polanski, Leader of the Green Party of England and Wales, Green Party of England and Wales; Speech to the New Economics Foundation, 18 March 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Housing & environment](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/housing-and-environment)
- **Speaker:** [Zack Polanski](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/zack-polanski), Leader of the Green Party of England and Wales
- **Party:** [Green Party of England and Wales](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/green-party)
- **Made on:** 18 March 2026
- **Where:** Speech to the New Economics Foundation
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Council tenants, and the councils whose homes are sold under right to buy
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://greenparty.org.uk/2026/03/18/zack-polanski-lays-out-plans-to-back-the-caring-majority-in-major-speech/ (checked word for word at its source on 20 October 2026; Quoted for reporting; rights stay with the publisher)
- **Last updated:** 20 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-green-end-right-to-buy-2026

## Where it stands

The Green Party is not in government, so the card stays at Promised. He set it out as part of his plan to end "rip-off Britain", alongside building more council homes and controlling rents, and said over two million houses have been sold under right to buy since it was introduced. He gave no date.

## Timeline

- 18 March 2026, Promised: Zack Polanski says right to buy should end completely, in a speech to the New Economics Foundation

## About the cost

No cost was given in the cited source.

## Sources

- [Green Party: Zack Polanski lays out plans to back the "caring majority" in major speech (18 Mar 2026)](https://greenparty.org.uk/2026/03/18/zack-polanski-lays-out-plans-to-back-the-caring-majority-in-major-speech/)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 20 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
