# Healthy Babies support in every English family hub

> “The Healthy Babies programme will be rolled out nationally to every Best Start family hub, extending support based on Sure Start principles during pregnancy and the first two years of life to families in every part of England.”
>
> — Karin Smyth, Minister of State for Health (Secondary Care), Labour Party; Written ministerial statement, 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Health](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/health)
- **Speaker:** [Karin Smyth](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/karin-smyth), Minister of State for Health (Secondary Care)
- **Party:** [Labour Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/labour)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Written ministerial statement
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Families in England during pregnancy and a baby's first two years
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS364 (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Parliament Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-healthy-babies-every-hub-2026

## Where it stands

Healthy Babies runs in 75 local authorities today. It helps parents and carers with infant feeding, parental mental health and bonding with their baby, during pregnancy and the first two years. The statement gives no date or cost for taking it to every Best Start family hub.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The health minister says the Healthy Babies programme will be rolled out to every Best Start family hub in England

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Written ministerial statement HCWS364, 12 Oct 2026: Health and care reviews, improvement and regulation](https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS364)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
