# Public inquiry into the Heaton Park synagogue attack

> “What happened that day must be fully understood so, as requested by the coroner, I can today announce a public inquiry into the deaths of Mr Cravitz and Mr Daulby.”
>
> — Shabana Mahmood, Home Secretary, Labour Party; Commons statement, 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Police, courts, prisons](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/police-courts-and-prisons)
- **Speaker:** [Shabana Mahmood](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/shabana-mahmood), Home Secretary
- **Party:** [Labour Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/labour)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Commons statement
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** The families of the two men killed, the people injured, and the Jewish community
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/2026-10-12/debates/BAD9E091-76DE-478A-AD67-00B68C6E7FEE/NationalSecurity (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Parliament Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-heaton-park-inquiry-2026

## Where it stands

Two men were killed and three others seriously injured in the terror attack at Heaton Park synagogue on Yom Kippur in October 2025. The Home Secretary said the inquiry, requested by the coroner, will let all evidence be heard, including sensitive national security material that the coroner's court could not fully hear. No chair, terms of reference or timetable has been announced.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The Home Secretary announces a public inquiry into the deaths in the Heaton Park synagogue attack, as the coroner requested

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Hansard, House of Commons, 12 Oct 2026: National Security (Home Secretary's statement)](https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/2026-10-12/debates/BAD9E091-76DE-478A-AD67-00B68C6E7FEE/NationalSecurity)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
