# 159 new community mental health centres

> “This might sound disappointing, as we will not be taking forward her specific suggestion, but we will be bringing forward four new community mental health centres across Hertfordshire, as part of 159 across the country.”
>
> — Andy Burnham, Prime Minister, Labour Party; Prime Minister's Questions, 14 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Health](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/health)
- **Speaker:** [Andy Burnham](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/andy-burnham), Prime Minister
- **Party:** [Labour Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/labour)
- **Made on:** 14 October 2026
- **Where:** Prime Minister's Questions
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** People who need mental health support; four of the centres are to be in Hertfordshire
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/2026-10-14/debates/0BFDA327-FA8B-44F9-85C3-02A2F2712280/Engagements (checked word for word on 16 October 2026; Open Parliament Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 16 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-mental-health-centres-2026

## Where it stands

Asked to fund a mental health in-patient hub in Hertfordshire, the Prime Minister said the government will not take that proposal forward, but will bring forward four new community mental health centres in Hertfordshire, as part of 159 across the country. He said the Health and Social Care Secretary will involve the MP in the design of the new hubs. He gave no date, cost or list of places. The card moves when the government publishes where and when the centres will open.

## Timeline

- 14 October 2026, Promised: The Prime Minister tells the Commons there will be 159 new community mental health centres across the country, four of them in Hertfordshire

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Hansard, House of Commons, 14 Oct 2026: Engagements (Prime Minister's Questions)](https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/2026-10-14/debates/0BFDA327-FA8B-44F9-85C3-02A2F2712280/Engagements)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 16 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
