# A national police service for crime and terrorism

> “That is one of the reasons why I am setting up the national police service, which will bring together the National Crime Agency and Counter Terrorism Policing into one service.”
>
> — Shabana Mahmood, Home Secretary, Labour Party; Commons statement, in reply to a question, 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Police, courts, prisons](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/police-courts-and-prisons)
- **Speaker:** [Shabana Mahmood](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/shabana-mahmood), Home Secretary
- **Party:** [Labour Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/labour)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Commons statement, in reply to a question
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** The National Crime Agency, Counter Terrorism Policing and their staff
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/2026-10-12/debates/BAD9E091-76DE-478A-AD67-00B68C6E7FEE/NationalSecurity (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Parliament Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-national-police-service-2026

## Where it stands

Said in answer to a question after the Home Secretary's statement on national security. The new service is to bring together the National Crime Agency and Counter Terrorism Policing. No date, cost or legislation was given. The card moves when the service is set up in law or starts work.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The Home Secretary says she is setting up a national police service bringing together the National Crime Agency and Counter Terrorism Policing

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Hansard, House of Commons, 12 Oct 2026: National Security (Home Secretary's statement)](https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/2026-10-12/debates/BAD9E091-76DE-478A-AD67-00B68C6E7FEE/NationalSecurity)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
