# A national security Bill to fight cyber-criminals

> “We will go further with our upcoming national security Bill and give intelligence agencies and the police stronger powers to bear down on cyber-criminals.”
>
> — Shabana Mahmood, Home Secretary, Labour Party; Commons statement, 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Police, courts, prisons](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/police-courts-and-prisons)
- **Speaker:** [Shabana Mahmood](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/shabana-mahmood), Home Secretary
- **Party:** [Labour Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/labour)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Commons statement
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** The intelligence agencies and the police, and the people and businesses cyber-criminals target
- **When:** Not stated ("upcoming")
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/2026-10-12/debates/BAD9E091-76DE-478A-AD67-00B68C6E7FEE/NationalSecurity (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Parliament Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-national-security-bill-cyber-2026

## Where it stands

Announced alongside the Cyber Security and Resilience (Network and Information Systems) Bill, which is already before Parliament. The Home Secretary did not say when the new Bill will be introduced or what the stronger powers will be. The card moves when the Bill is published.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The Home Secretary says an upcoming national security Bill will give intelligence agencies and the police stronger powers against cyber-criminals

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Hansard, House of Commons, 12 Oct 2026: National Security (Home Secretary's statement)](https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/2026-10-12/debates/BAD9E091-76DE-478A-AD67-00B68C6E7FEE/NationalSecurity)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
