# Licence and regulate property agents

> “We also announced our intention to legislate for the independent regulation of property agents.”
>
> — Matthew Pennycook, Minister of State for Housing and Planning, Labour Party; Written ministerial statement, 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Housing & environment](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/housing-and-environment)
- **Speaker:** [Matthew Pennycook](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/matthew-pennycook), Minister of State for Housing and Planning
- **Party:** [Labour Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/labour)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Written ministerial statement
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Property agents, and the tenants, leaseholders and homeowners who deal with them
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS363 (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Parliament Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-regulate-property-agents-2026

## Where it stands

Property agents would need a licence and suitable qualifications to work; a regulator could set codes of practice and take licences away. The statement says further information will follow "in due course" and names no Bill or date.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The Housing Minister repeats the government's intention to legislate for the independent regulation of property agents

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Written ministerial statement HCWS363, 12 Oct 2026: Improving housing availability and affordability](https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS363)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
