# GP referral route for women facing abuse

> “This will start with an investment of up to £34.4 million over three years to support 12 Integrated Care Boards across England to deliver the first phase of a primary care referral pathway, called Steps to Safety, making sure women and girls experiencing violence and abuse can access specialist support through their GP.”
>
> — Karin Smyth, Minister of State for Health (Secondary Care), Labour Party; Written ministerial statement, 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Health](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/health)
- **Speaker:** [Karin Smyth](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/karin-smyth), Minister of State for Health (Secondary Care)
- **Party:** [Labour Party](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/labour)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Written ministerial statement
- **Cost a year:** Costs £10m to £13m a year (central £12m by Department of Health and Social Care, official)
- **Who it affects:** Women and girls experiencing violence and abuse, in 12 Integrated Care Board areas of England
- **When:** Over three years (start not stated)
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS364 (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Parliament Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-steps-to-safety-gp-2026

## Where it stands

Steps to Safety is to let women and girls experiencing violence and abuse reach specialist support through their GP. The £34.4m pays for the first phase in 12 of England's Integrated Care Boards, the NHS bodies that plan local health services. The statement does not name the 12 or give a start date.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The health minister commits up to £34.4m over three years for 12 Integrated Care Boards to run the first phase of Steps to Safety

## About the cost

The government's own figure: up to £34.4m over three years, shown as about £11.5m a year. Low–high is an editorial ±10% because the source gives a central figure only.

Costing sources:
- [Written ministerial statement HCWS364, 12 Oct 2026: Health and care reviews, improvement and regulation](https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS364)

## Sources

- [Written ministerial statement HCWS364, 12 Oct 2026: Health and care reviews, improvement and regulation](https://questions-statements.parliament.uk/written-statements/detail/2026-10-12/HCWS364)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
