# £140m for 14 new urgent care schemes

> “Today (18 October), the government is announcing that almost £140 million will be invested in 14 new urgent care schemes across England, including new urgent treatment centres (UTCs) and same day emergency care services (SDECs), new ambulance fleets, and emergency department upgrades, providing a significant increase in frontline and urgent care capacity.”
>
> — HM Government; Press release (Department of Health and Social Care), 18 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Health](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/health)
- **Speaker:** [HM Government](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/hm-government)
- **Made on:** 18 October 2026
- **Where:** Press release (Department of Health and Social Care)
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** NHS patients in England using urgent and emergency care at the 14 hospitals named
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://www.gov.uk/government/news/140-million-boost-to-urgent-care-to-ease-winter-pressures-on-nhs (checked word for word at its source on 19 October 2026; Open Government Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 20 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-urgent-care-14-schemes-2026

## Where it stands

The release lists the 14 schemes in its notes to editors, with the hospital and the money for each: new urgent treatment centres, same day emergency care services, ambulance fleets and emergency department upgrades. Some amounts are spread over two or four years, and the release gives no date for the schemes to open. The card moves when the department or NHS England reports the schemes funded or open.

## Timeline

- 18 October 2026, Promised: The government announces almost £140 million for 14 new urgent care schemes across England

## About the cost

The release says almost £140 million across the 14 schemes, with no single period: its notes spread some amounts over two or four years.

## Sources

- [Department of Health and Social Care press release, 18 Oct 2026: £140 million boost to urgent care to ease winter pressures on NHS](https://www.gov.uk/government/news/140-million-boost-to-urgent-care-to-ease-winter-pressures-on-nhs)

## Checks

- Verified by Pavel Guzhikov, checked by AI Journalist; approved on 20 October 2026.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 19 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
