# Pilot first hearings by video from police cells

> “Recommended in Lord Leveson’s Review and backed by £17.4 million, the Government’s latest technology drive will be piloted in at least four police force areas across the country.”
>
> — HM Government; Press release (Ministry of Justice), 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Police, courts, prisons](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/police-courts-and-prisons)
- **Speaker:** [HM Government](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/hm-government)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Press release (Ministry of Justice)
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Defendants at their first court hearing, and the courts and police in at least four police force areas
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://www.gov.uk/government/news/technology-to-bolster-justice-for-victims-as-government-responds-to-leveson (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Government Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-virtual-remand-hearings-pilot-2026

## Where it stands

Under Virtual Remand Hearings, defendants attend their first court hearing by secure video link from a police custody suite instead of being taken to court. It is part of the government's response, published 12 October 2026, to Lord Leveson's review of the criminal courts. The release names neither the police force areas nor a start date.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The government says Virtual Remand Hearings, backed by £17.4m, will be piloted in at least four police force areas

## About the cost

£17.4m in total, by the government's figure. The release gives no period, so no yearly figure is shown.

## Sources

- [Ministry of Justice press release, 12 Oct 2026: Technology to bolster justice for victims as government responds to Leveson](https://www.gov.uk/government/news/technology-to-bolster-justice-for-victims-as-government-responds-to-leveson)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
