# Create Vocational GCSEs to replace Technical Awards

> “Every young person across the country will also be able to pursue prestigious new Vocational GCSEs and access work experience, as part of the Prime Minister’s commitment in his first week in the role to put technical education on an equal footing with the traditional academic path. The new national qualifications will be created to sit alongside traditional GCSEs and will replace the current Technical Awards.”
>
> — HM Government; Press release (Department for Work and Pensions), 15 October 2026

- **Status:** Promised
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Education](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/education)
- **Speaker:** [HM Government](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/hm-government)
- **Made on:** 15 October 2026
- **Where:** Press release (Department for Work and Pensions)
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Young people choosing vocational subjects; the new qualifications replace the current Technical Awards
- **When:** Not stated
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://www.gov.uk/government/news/britains-biggest-hospitality-brands-partner-with-government-to-deliver-100000-jobs-for-neet-young-people (checked word for word at its source on 18 October 2026; Open Government Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 19 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-vocational-gcses-2026

## Where it stands

The release says this is part of the Prime Minister's commitment, made in his first week in the role, to put technical education on an equal footing with the traditional academic path. It gives no date for the first Vocational GCSEs, no subjects and no cost. The card moves when the government publishes the qualifications or the date schools start teaching them.

## Timeline

- 15 October 2026, Promised: The government says new Vocational GCSEs will be created and will replace the current Technical Awards

## About the cost

No cost has been published.

## Sources

- [Department for Work and Pensions press release, 15 Oct 2026: Britain's biggest hospitality brands partner with Government to deliver 100,000 jobs for NEET young people](https://www.gov.uk/government/news/britains-biggest-hospitality-brands-partner-with-government-to-deliver-100000-jobs-for-neet-young-people)

## Checks

- Verified by Pavel Guzhikov, checked by AI Journalist; approved on 19 October 2026.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 18 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
