# A Youth Hub in every local area

> “Open on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, the Hub is part of the Government’s commitment to deliver a Youth Hub in every local area of Great Britain over the next three years, building a national network of support for the nearly one million young people not in education, employment or training.”
>
> — HM Government; Press release (DWP), 12 October 2026

- **Status:** Delivering
- **Status ladder:** Promised → In plan → Legislated → Funded → Delivering → Delivered
- **Policy area:** [Transport & economy](https://ledgergov.uk/promises/area/transport-and-economy)
- **Speaker:** [HM Government](https://ledgergov.uk/actor/hm-government)
- **Made on:** 12 October 2026
- **Where:** Press release (DWP)
- **Cost a year:** No costing published
- **Who it affects:** Young people aged 16 to 24 in Great Britain, including the nearly one million not in education, employment or training
- **When:** Over the next three years (start not stated)
- **Paid for by:** Not stated when it was announced
- **Quote source:** https://www.gov.uk/government/news/major-boost-for-young-people-in-exeter-as-youth-hub-opens-to-support-them-towards-work (checked word for word on 13 October 2026; Open Government Licence v3.0)
- **Last updated:** 13 October 2026
- **Card:** https://ledgergov.uk/promise/uk-youth-hub-every-area-2029

## Where it stands

Youth Hubs put Jobcentre Plus, council services, employers and training providers under one roof for young people aged 16 to 24. The Department for Work and Pensions repeated the commitment on 12 October 2026 as a hub opened in Exeter, and says every hub will meet a set of minimum standards. The release does not say when the three years started, what counts as a local area, or how many hubs that means, so the card has no deadline yet.

## Timeline

- 12 October 2026, Promised: The government repeats its commitment to a Youth Hub in every local area of Great Britain within three years
- 12 October 2026, Delivering: A Youth Hub opens in Exeter, open three days a week at St James Park ([evidence](https://www.gov.uk/government/news/major-boost-for-young-people-in-exeter-as-youth-hub-opens-to-support-them-towards-work))

## About the cost

The release says the government is investing £2.5bn so that all young people can earn or learn, but not how much of that pays for Youth Hubs, so no yearly figure is shown.

## Sources

- [DWP press release, 12 Oct 2026: Major boost for young people in Exeter as Youth Hub opens to support them towards work](https://www.gov.uk/government/news/major-boost-for-young-people-in-exeter-as-youth-hub-opens-to-support-them-towards-work)

## Checks

- Checked automatically by AI Journalist, not yet verified by an editor.
- Checked by AI Journalist (automated) on 13 October 2026.

---

LedgerGov.UK's own writing (headlines, status notes, cost notes, summaries) is licensed under [Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0)](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/): reuse it, crediting LedgerGov.UK with a link to the card. Official figures are under the [Open Government Licence v3.0](https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/) unless their source says otherwise; quotes from Parliament under the [Open Parliament Licence v3.0](https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament/open-parliament-licence/); other quotes are short extracts whose rights stay with the speaker. How the numbers and statuses are made: https://ledgergov.uk/method.
