Build 1.5 million new homes
“Labour will get Britain building again, creating jobs across England, with 1.5 million new homes over the next parliament.”
- Delivering
Where it stands
Homes are being built and the government publishes official estimates against the target. The latest, published on 24 September 2026, puts net additional homes in England since 9 July 2024 at 437,900, about 29% of 1.5 million, so the card sits at Delivering. The manifesto says "over the next parliament", taken here as by 1 July 2029.
What has happened
- Jun 2024Labour manifesto pledges 1.5 million new homes over the Parliament, Promised
- Dec 2024The government's Plan for Change sets building 1.5 million homes in England as a milestone, In plan evidence
- Jun 2025Spending Review 2025 confirms £39bn for a new 10-year Affordable Homes Programme, Funded evidence
- Nov 2025Official estimate: 275,600 net additional homes in England from 9 July 2024 to 9 November 2025, Delivering evidence
- Dec 2025Planning and Infrastructure Act 2025 receives Royal Assent (the manifesto ties planning reform to the target), Legislated evidence
- Sep 2026Official estimate: 437,900 net additional homes in England from 9 July 2024 to 20 September 2026, Delivering evidence
- Jul 2029End of the Parliament (editorial date), Deadline
About the cost
No official costing of the target as a whole exists, and most of the homes are expected to be built privately. Labour's costings list £20m a year for 300 new planning officers (page 127) and say policies not listed are funded from existing budgets or have no cost (page 126). Spending Review 2025 later confirmed £39bn over ten years for a new Affordable Homes Programme, which counts towards the target.
Contracts behind delivery
Public contracts an editor linked to this promise. Figures come from the contract notices and are read again every night; a change adds a new entry and never rewrites an old one.
5 contracts, £650,000 in all at their latest values; 1 awarded without competition.
- New Towns social value & stakeholder engagementHomes England (the name adopted by the Homes and Communities Agency) · awarded 3 Sep 2025
- Supplier
- BDP
- Bids received
- None: awarded without competition
- Value
- £50,000SourcedFrom the Contracts Finder notice, as published on 8 Oct 2026.Contracts Finder: contract notices
- Unchanged since 8 Oct 2026
- End date
- Planned end 31 Mar 2026, as first planned
- New Towns Gap Analysis - 1 of 4Homes England (the name adopted by the Homes and Communities Agency) · awarded 26 Sep 2025
- Supplier
- CBRE Limited
- Bids received
- Not stated
- Value
- £150,000SourcedFrom the Contracts Finder notice, as published on 8 Oct 2026.Contracts Finder: contract notices
- Unchanged since 8 Oct 2026
- End date
- Planned end 12 Dec 2025, as first planned
- New Towns Gap Analysis 2 of 4Homes England (the name adopted by the Homes and Communities Agency) · awarded 26 Sep 2025
- Supplier
- Cushman & Wakefield
- Bids received
- Not stated
- Value
- £150,000SourcedFrom the Contracts Finder notice, as published on 8 Oct 2026.Contracts Finder: contract notices
- Unchanged since 8 Oct 2026
- End date
- Planned end 12 Dec 2025, as first planned
Show 2 moreShow fewer
- New towns gap analysis 3 of 4Homes England (the name adopted by the Homes and Communities Agency) · awarded 26 Sep 2025
- Supplier
- Deloitte LLP
- Bids received
- Not stated
- Value
- £150,000SourcedFrom the Contracts Finder notice, as published on 8 Oct 2026.Contracts Finder: contract notices
- Unchanged since 8 Oct 2026
- End date
- Planned end 12 Dec 2025, as first planned
- New towns gap analysis 4 of 4Homes England (the name adopted by the Homes and Communities Agency) · awarded 26 Sep 2025
- Supplier
- Newmark (Gerald Eve LLP)
- Bids received
- Not stated
- Value
- £150,000SourcedFrom the Contracts Finder notice, as published on 8 Oct 2026.Contracts Finder: contract notices
- Unchanged since 8 Oct 2026
- End date
- Planned end 12 Dec 2025, as first planned
More detail
Sources (6)
- Labour Party: Change, 2024 manifesto (PDF), page 36
- MHCLG: Housing supply: indicators of new supply, England: April to June 2026 (24 Sep 2026)
- MHCLG: Housing supply: net additional dwellings, England: 2024 to 2025 (20 Nov 2025)
- HM Government: Plan for Change, milestones for mission-led government (5 Dec 2024)
- HM Treasury: Spending Review 2025 (11 Jun 2025)
- Planning and Infrastructure Act 2025
How cards are checked
Status follows the promise standard, the same for every party. A status changes only on evidence. Anyone named on a card can reply, and replies are published next to it. AI Journalist is our automated reviewer: it re-reads every card against its live sources (the quote word for word, dates, evidence, status, cost, neutral wording, legal risk). Human editors review next.
Related promises
- Create or extend 25 nature reserves by 2027Natural EnglandDelivering
- All landlords registered by 14 November 2027HM GovernmentIn plan
- Cut manufacturers’ electricity bills by up to 25%Blair McDougall · LabourIn plan